Fearless: Conquering Fear!

"All my life I've had this fear.  A fear that I cannot name.  You see I know that I'm not perfect and my flaws are tease worthy, but the taught of being exposed freezes me to inaction.  And it spreads like a bee to fertilize and multiply other fears.  I fear new people because I'm scared of walking into a room and being judged.  But I'm new to a new city and I know no one.  And how will I meet anyone if the thought of meeting someone can crash and burn of unacceptance?  And so I label myself as shy.  I cannot speak in public.  I write my notes and read from a pad in front of an audience because my pad is my shield.  You see I love to talk and I love to share.  And I could do so much more if I wasn't scared.  I stand here today as mere baby steps to change, to growth.  But I long for the day when I can be completely FEARLESS!" -Kat Pierce (me)

If someone would have told me that a mitzvah would feel this awesome I would have never believed them, but it's true. Doing selfless acts is the best feeling in the whole entire world. 

Today I taught a Higher Learning workshop on being Fearless and conquering fears.

What would you do if you were not afraid? This well-known question has probably come across your mind a few times, right? This workshop was aimed at helping you identify the core of what is driving your fears and the tools to work through them.

All donations for this workshop went toward benefiting the Grateful Garment Project - a local San Jose organization that "restore dignity to victims of sexual assault by providing new clothing and other items to victims of sexual assault".


My workshop was such a success. I set out to inspire, educate, and encourage and I believe I was able to do just that. Plus I raised money for charity! I kept nothing for myself and gave my absolute all in this. I too conquered fears today! 

My heart is filled with such joy right now. I'm on cloud nine! 


Please help support victims of sexual assault, whom had the courage of coming forward.
Donate to support The Greatful Garment Project!
This non-profit aims to restore their dignity!



[Recap]: YA: Boldly Bookish Tour: Jennifer Lynn Barnes, Tiffany Schmidt,& Tara Altebrando

On Thursday, I had the pleasure of meeting three great authors and being introduced to three fantastic new books. Summer is starting to look a lot better.

The Leaving

The Leaving


by 
Hardcover, 432 pages
Published June 7th 2016 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Six were taken. Eleven years later, five come back--with no idea of where they've been.
Eleven years ago, six kindergarteners went missing without a trace. After all that time, the people left behind moved on, or tried to.
Until today. Today five of those kids return. They're sixteen, and they are . . . fine. Scarlett comes home and finds a mom she barely recognizes, and doesn't really recognize the person she's supposed to be, either. But she thinks she remembers Lucas. Lucas remembers Scarlett, too, except they're entirely unable to recall where they've been or what happened to them. Neither of them remember the sixth victim, Max. He doesn't come back. Everyone wants answers. Most of all Max's sister Avery, who needs to find her brother--dead or alive--and isn't buying this whole memory-loss story. 





The Long Game (The Fixer, #2)
The Long Game (The Fixer #2)
by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
368 pages
Published June 7th 2016 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Tess Kendrick, teen fixer extraordinaire, returns in a pulse-pounding thriller about a deadly conspiracy at the heart of Washington.
For Tess Kendrick, a junior at the elite Hardwicke School in Washington D.C., fixing runs in the family. But Tess has another legacy, too, one that involves power and the making of political dynasties. When Tess is asked to run a classmate's campaign for student council, she agrees. But when the candidates are children of politicians, even a high school election can involve life-shattering secrets.
Meanwhile, Tess's guardian has also taken on an impossible case, as a terrorist attack calls into doubt who can--and cannot--be trusted on Capitol Hill. Tess knows better than most that power is currency in D.C., but she's about to discover first-hand that power always comes with a price.
Perfect for fans of Harlan Coben and Ally Carter, the second book in this thrilling series will leave readers breathless.

Break Me Like a Promise (Once Upon a Crime Family, #2)

Break Me Like a Promise (Once Upon a Crime Family #2)

by 
Hardcover416 pages Published June 7th 2016 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
No one is unbreakable.
All Magnolia Vickers has ever wanted was to follow father’s path as head of the Family Business. But new legislation is poised to destroy the Family’s operations in the black-market organ trade and Maggie’s recent behavior has wrecked the business-savvy reputation she’s worked her whole life to build.
She’s given an ultimatum: shape up or step aside.
Then Maggie messes up: she downloads a virus onto her father’s computer, and must sneak it off-estate for repair. When Alex, a tech whiz, uncovers the type of information on the machine, he offers Maggie a choice: her Family can give him a kidney, or he’ll irreparably scramble the data. Maggie agrees, but has no intention of keeping her promise or ever seeing him again. That night Alex shows up at her Family estate with copies of confidential Family files and a shocking revelation—the kidney is for him.
The Vickers aren’t willing to let Alex out of their sight, so he moves onto their estate and Maggie is assigned to be his keeper. A task she resents and he enjoys making as challenging as possible. But procuring black market organs is becoming increasingly difficult, and as Alex’s health declines, she’s surprised to find herself falling for him.
Like it or not, Maggie must accept that if she wants to save Alex’s life and carve out a place in the new legalized organ business, she’s going to have to fight for both.

video
I thought s was so awesome!

Specs on Deck

I don't normally do reviews, but when a company delights me time and time again, I've got to give them props.  I am now a loyal fan to Eye Buy Direct!  Every year my prescription changes and every time I buy super expensive glasses at the optometry office only to find cuter ones online at less than half the price. I have yet to find an online eyewear vendor better than Eye Buy Direct!

Exhibit A:  
Oh, wait! Yep, I spiked the tea after shelling out $300+  for these Coach glasses. 


Exhibit B:  
Team retro in these exaggerated cat-eye cuties...
CHARLOTTE 
FRAME PRICE: $32

Trust me shopping online for glasses was not an easy task for me to get jiggy with.  I have a unique nose that not all bridges can accommodate.  I bought a pair with this order that could not fit this snout, so I had to get these peeps on the phone asap rocky. (Well more like email.)
Cute, huh? I was so bummed the "Chilling" didn't fit!

They were so helpful, understanding.  They replaced them with another model, hassle-free.

Booyah! Geek look in full effect...
ANAHI 
 FRAME PRICE: $29 

As Bob is my witness I'll never pay full price for glasses again!

Yep, I love these guys & gals and had to share!
I did not get paid for this posting.
I just do it for the love of fabulous specs on deck!

Hooked on the Vine!

I've discovered Vine!

And in my super busy day found a way to make two mini vids:

Here I spell out "Shalom" with my Hebrew cards-



Here I'm just being silly driving to class-



I know I haven't been very active lately because, it actually takes time to sit down and type a post, but you can follow me on other social media until my schedule frees up.

My Vine page is here:

May Book of the Month: Bait by J. Kent Messum

BaitBait
 by J. Kent Messum
Paperback, 288 pages
Published August 27th 2013 by Plume

No one is coming to your aid. We have ensured this.
Six strangers wake up on a remote island in the Florida Keys with no memory of their arrival. They soon discover their common bond: all of them are heroin addicts. As the first excruciating pangs of withdrawal make themselves felt, the six notice a yacht anchored across open water. On it lurk four shadowy figures, protected by the hungry sharks that patrol the waves. So begins a dangerous game. The six must undertake the impossible—swim to the next island where a cache of heroin awaits, or die trying. When alliances form, betrayal is inevitable. As the fight to survive intensifies, the stakes reach terrifying heights—and their captors’ motives finally begin to emerge.



This one was a lot like Sharknato...so bad, it's actually kinda good!  No, really!

Rewind to the April "Book of the Month": The Heart Goes Last by Margaret Atwood

The Heart Goes LastThe Heart Goes Last
by Margaret Atwood
Hardcover
308 pages
Published September 29th 2015 by Nan A. Talese


Living in their car, surviving on tips, Charmaine and Stan are in a desperate state. So, when they see an advertisement for Consilience, a ‘social experiment’ offering stable jobs and a home of their own, they sign up immediately. All they have to do in return for suburban paradise is give up their freedom every second month – swapping their home for a prison cell. At first, all is well. But then, unknown to each other, Stan and Charmaine develop passionate obsessions with their ‘Alternates,’ the couple that occupy their house when they are in prison. Soon the pressures of conformity, mistrust, guilt and sexual desire begin to take over.


 


Stacking the Shelves #21 with Kat



Stacking The Shelves is hosted By Tynga's Reviews. This meme is about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be hard-back, paperback or ebook.


Hello all!  I know it's been a long time since I've done a STS post.  After painfully purging my massive novel collection before moving across country last year, I finally have the opportunity to rebuild.  Here a sampler of my new additions:

The Heart Goes Last by Margaret Atwood was the bookclub book for March and I got this copy from the library.

The rest of these lovely finds, I got at the Dollar Tree.
Rage Is Back by 
The Lovebird 
by 
Rush 
(The Game #1) by 
Schooled in Revenge 
by 
Mom & Me & Mom 
by 
My Unfair Godmother 
(My Fair Godmother #2) by 
A Spoonful of Sugar: A Nanny's Story 
by 
Wasteland 
(Wasteland #1) by 
Pretty Crooked 
(Pretty Crooked #1) by Impostor (Variants #1) by 
Bait 
by 


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Ad